One Cook.One Camera.

After a busy year of Dissertation, Final Major Project and London Degree Show I am over the moon to say that the hard work paid off and this November I will be graduating from the University of Gloucestershire with a first class BA(hons) degree in Editorial and Advertising Photography.

So what’s next for me? Well to begin with I couldn’t quite face the adult world yet so instead I travelled around Europe on trains with a few of my closest friends. We had an amazing few weeks but now home I want to get back in to the swing of things and back to doing what I love most which is photographing the food I love to produce and I thought this blog would be the best way to keep you updated.

This week my first post is a throw back to when I believed that this year Britain was going to have a summer (I can still hope!) and my local fruit and veg shop was full of summer fruits, so this week I focus on just one, the raspberry and so decided to produce a sweet and savoury option.

Eleanor_Wright_Still_Life_onecookonecameraEleanor_Wright_Savoury_onecookonecamera

©eleanorwright

First up the savoury option!

Raspberry, Rocket & Feta Salad:

Serves: 4   Prep: 10 minutes

Ingredients:

  • 150g of rocket
  • punnet of raspberries
  • 50g feta cheese

Salad Dressing:

  • 1tbsp olive oil
  • 2tbsp white wine vinegar
  • 1tsp dijon mustard
  • 1/2tsp caster sugar

Method:

  1. Rinse the rocket and then dab with a tea towel to get rid of any excess water, then put in a bowl.
  2. Chop the feta cheese in to small cubes (leaving some for crumbling later).
  3. Toss the raspberries and feta cubes in the bowl and crumble the remaining cheese on top.
  4. In a small bowl mix together the olive oil, vinegar, mustard and sugar.
  5. Slowly pour the dressing over the salad (making sure you don’t add too much) and serve.

Eleanor_Wright_Sweet_onecookonecamera

©eleanorwright

This next recipe is a perfect summery dessert (I said I was still I hoping), taken from my Hummingbird Bakery Cake Days recipe book with my quicker alternative.

Raspberry and Peach Custard Tart:

Serves: 8-10     Prep: 1 hour 30 minutes

Pastry:

  • 110g unsalted butter
  • 225g plain flour
  • 80g caster sugar
  • 1 egg

Filling:

  • 1-2 tins of ready made custard (my cheat)

Topping:

  • 4 peaches
  • 100g raspberries
  • 30g caster sugar

Method:

  1. In a bowl rub together the butter and the flour with your fingertips until it becomes a crumble like texture, then stir in the sugar and egg. When the dough forms, remove from the bowl to a floured surface and knead it together. Cling film and place in the fridge for 20-30 minutes.
  2. Once rested, on a floured surface roll out the pastry to about 1/2 centimetre thick or until large enough to fit your tin. Press the pastry gently into the tin, cut away overhang and refrigerate for a further 20-30 minutes.
  3. Preheat the oven to 170c (325f), gas mark 3.
  4. Once rested, line with baking parchment, fill with baking beans and ‘blind’ bake for 12 minutes. Then remove the baking beans and bake the pastry for a further 15 minutes or until cooked through and lightly golden in colour. Leave to cool.
  5. Once cooled, (now this is my cheat instead of making homemade custard, I used the brought stuff!) Pour in the tins of custard until the pastry is full.
  6. By this point I’m starving so unlike the hummingbird recipe I don’t bother baking the tart, I simply top the tart with the freshly chopped peach and the raspberries and serve.

So there is my cheat, just watch out when you cut into the tart the custard spills out but it tastes just as good and is much less faff and less time in the kitchen (which if you make this, hopefully it is a lovely sunny day, in which case the less time in the kitchen the better!)

 

 

Leave a Reply

